Founded in 1978, the Family Law Practitioners Association of Tasmania Inc. is the state body created by – and created for – family lawyers.

Representing private and public sector lawyers alike, FLPAT provides seminars and conferences, social drinks and representation for our members – Tasmania’s family law community.


Since its foundation FLPAT has provided a voice for Tasmania’s family lawyers. We meet regularly with federal and state judiciary over the family law and child protection systems to ensure that the Tasmanian experience of practice works better for practitioners and clients.

We provide submissions to State and Commonwealth inquiries in many areas, including child protection, same-sex marriage, binding financial agreements, legal aid and access to justice. We also provide information and feedback to the Family Law Section of the Law Council of Australia.


FLPAT hosts an annual Conference at various sites around the State, featuring local and interstate judiciary, practitioners and affiliated professions on a variety of topics.

FLPAT also provides CLE seminars throughout the year at, or near, free of charge to our members.

Social Opportunities

Family lawyers throughout Australia are known for their collegiality – and in a close knit environment like Tasmania, this is no different.

We provide social and networking events for visiting judiciary, Christmas events, our annual Conference Dinner, and ensure that our members have the opportunity to relax and discuss matters away from the courtroom.

Our Dedicated Committee


Julia Higgins


Bishops Barristers & Solicitors, Launceston

Joanne Bragg

Vice Chair - North

Greg Smith & Co Solicitors, Wynyard

Anna Lydon

Vice Chair - South

PWB Lawyers, Hobart

Kirsten Starkey


Ogilvie Jennings Lawyers, Hobart

Sally Hunt


Legal Aid Commission of Tasmania, Launceston

Committee Members

Eve Schulz

Committee Member

Rita Van Meer

Committee Member

Legal Aid Commission of Tasmania, Hobart

Helen Bassett

Committee Member

Walsh Day James Mihal Barristers and Solicitors, Ulverstone

Carmen Burns

Committee Member

Rae & Partners, Launceston

Tianna Freeman

Committee Member

Bishops Barristers & Solicitors, Launceston

Louise Mollross

Committee Member

Ogilvie Jennings Lawyers, Hobart

Kikki Mussared

Committee Member

Legal Aid Commission of Tasmania, Hobart

Roger Murray

Committee Member

Murray and Associates, Launceston

Cassandra Jacobs

Committee Member

Jacobs Family Law, Hobart

Marcus Turnbull

Committee Member

Ogilvie Jennings Lawyers, Hobart